Rusoff Agency

Deals

Publishers Marketplace – May 18, 2020 – YOU BELONG HERE NOW by Dianna Rostad

Dianna Rostad’s YOU BELONG HERE NOW, set in 1925 Yellowstone County Montana where a brusque spinster rancher begrudgingly takes in three mysterious orphans and after an alarming discovery about the oldest she must face a decision that challenges her deepest held beliefs in a big-hearted story of redemption and forgiveness where even wild horses find their place, to Lucia Macro at William Morrow, in a very nice deal, at auction, by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates (world English).

Publishers Marketplace – December 11, 2019 – UNTITLED – by Kerry Egan

Nonfiction – Narrative – Untitled – Kerry Egan’s author of On Living, now offers original and unexpected observations on vocation, a chaplain and mother’s view of the most meaningful work of all, the task of forging a sense of a life well lived, sold to Riverhead’s Rebecca Saletan by agent Marly Rusoff, in a good deal, NA and audio.

Publishers Weekly – September 23, 2019 – Mercury Boys by Chandra Prasad

Daniel Ehrenhaft at Soho Teen has bought Mercury Boys by Chandra Prasad. Pitched as a little bit Heathers, a little bit Miss Peregrine, the YA thriller follows a secret society of girls who discover that when they handle liquid mercury, they are able to visit long-dead people who appear in daguerreotypes. Publication is planned for spring 2021; Marly Rusoff at the Rusoff Agency negotiated the deal for world English rights.

Publishers Market Place – July 16, 2019 – Dancing in the Mosque by Homeira Qaderi

Homeira Qaderi’s DANCING IN THE MOSQUE a memoir of growing up in Afghanistan and becoming a writer and social and women’s rights activist and one of the young teachers featured in Christina Lamb’s bestseller The Sewing Circles of Herat that offers a moving personal account of her life as a young woman coming of age in war torn Afghanistan, and as a young wife and mother written in the form of a letter to the infant son taken away from her, to to Sara Nelson of Harper Collins in a six figure deal by agent Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates. (World English and audio)

Publishers Marketplace – January 7, 2019 – THE LAST TRAIN TO LONDON by Meg Waite Clayton

Fiction – General OtherMeg Waite Clayton’s The Last Train to London—pitched as a novel for readers of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See, and based on a true story from the years just before WWII began—celebrates the efforts of a childless Dutchwoman who, against all odds, faces down Adolf Eichmann to rescue thousands of children from Nazi-occupied Vienna, including a young aspiring playwright and gifted daughter of an anti-Nazi journalist. To Harper Collin’s Sara Nelson at auction in a major two-book deal by agent Marly Rusoff, for publication in November 2019 (World plus audio)

Publishers Marketplace – November 27, 2018 – MARLEY by Jon Clinch

Fiction – General OtherJon Clinch author of FINN winner of Athenaeum Literary Award and best book of the year by the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, and the Christian Science Monitor imagines in MARLEY the secret-filled life of Charles Dickens’s Jacob Marley, longtime business partner of Ebenezer Scrooge, revealing how decades of personal and professional hostilities turned Scrooge into the man we encounter at the start of A Christmas Carol, to Peter Borland at Atria, in a pre-empt, in a good deal by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates. (World)

Publishers Marketplace – October 8, 2018 – TELL ME A STORY by Cassandra King Conroy

Nonfiction/MemoirAuthor of the novels The Same Sweet Girls and The Sunday Wife Cassandra King Conroy’s TELL ME A STORY: A NOT-SO LITERARY ROMANCE, a memoir and midlife love story of two cautious, disillusioned romantics who forged a life together in their beloved Lowcountry despite the demands of dual writing careers, dysfunctional families, and through illness, and ultimately, through the death of her husband Pat Conroy, to Carrie Feron at William Morrow, by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates (world English).

Publishers Marketplace – August 08, 2018 – Kwei Quartey’s The Missing American

New Mystery – Kwei Quartey, bestselling author of the Inspector Darko Dawson series, returns with THE MISSING AMERICAN a new standalone novel pitched as “The Ladies Detective Agency” but with a darker edge, introducing ex-cop Mabel Safo who joins a private investigation agency thinking she’ll have a much easier time than the traumatic police service, but what seems at first to be an ordinary missing person case develops into a dangerous and tangled web of crime at the highest levels sold by agent Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff and Associates to editor Amara Hoshijo at Soho Press (world English)

Publishers Marketplace – July 30, 2018 – Melodie Winawer’s THE ANTICIPATION

Fiction General-Other – Author of THE SCRIBE OF SIENA, Melodie Winawer’s THE ANTICIPATION, a thrilling past and present story about a widowed scientist who travels to visit the ruins of an ancient Greek city, Mystras, with her son, where they meet a protector of the city who holds the key to their future and to a deadly disease that worsens with each generation, to Tara Parsons at Touchstone, by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates (WE).

Publishers Marketplace – June 19, 2018 – Patti Callahan Henry’s SURVIVING SAVANNAH

Fiction – General/Other – NYT bestselling author Patti Callahan Henry’s SURVIVING SAVANNAH, with both historical and contemporary story lines and based on an 1800’s true story of a calamity at sea, in which a museum curator struggling to make sense of her life after the loss of her child, uncovers a hidden family connection to the historic tragedy that forces her rethink the role of fate, and the very meaning of her life, to Danielle Perez at Berkley, in a good deal, by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates (world).

Go to Top