Fiction News ] Resources ] Contact ]
Previous Page

Next Page

   

MY NAME IS MARY SUTTER by Robin Oliveira

THE THIEVES OF MANHATTAN by Adam Langer

In this stunning historical novel, Mary Sutter is a brilliant, headstrong midwife from Albany, New York, who dreams of becoming a surgeon. Determined to overcome the prejudices against women in medicine—and eager to run away from her recent heartbreak—Mary leaves home and travels to Washington, D.C. to help tend the legions of Civil War wounded...

More info...
Adam Langer, the wickedly funny author of the novels Crossing California, The Washington Story, and Ellington Boulevard, has written a book that is at once a comical literary caper, an exploration of authenticity and fakery, and a tribute to books. THE THIEVES OF MANHATTAN is a novel that examines the lengths some writers will go to succeed...

More info...

A CUP OF FRIENDSHIP by Deborah Rodriguez

IF WISHES WERE HORSES by Robert Barclay

From the author of the "big-hearted...inspiring" (Vogue) New York Times bestseller Kabul Beauty School comes a fiction debut as compelling as real life: the story of a remarkable coffee shop in the heart of Kabul, and the women who meet there--each with a story and a secret that will lead them all to an extraordinary friendship...

More info...
IF WISHES WERE HORSES, a modern day love story, explores a terrible loss and the extraordinary ability of one man to find love again. We believe that this novel will appeal to the millions of readers who enjoy fiction by writers such as Nicholas Sparks.

Five years after Wyatt Blaine loses his wife, Krista, and their young son...

More info...

THE KING OF DIAMONDS by Simon Tolkien

THE ARCHITECT OF FLOWERS by William Lychack

It’s 1960, and David Swan is two years into his life sentence for murdering the lover of his ex-girlfriend, Katya Osman. In the dead of night, David escapes from prison, and that same night Katya is found murdered in her uncle’s home, Blackwater Hall.

Inspector Trave of the Oxford Police, last seen in...

More info...
The stories in William Lychack’s dazzling new collection, The Architect of Flowers, explore the dear and inevitable distance between people in loving relationships and find hope in dark situations. With tiny, precise details, Lychack observes the overlooked moments of everyday life—the small failings between parents and children, the long-held secrets in married life.

A small-town policeman brings himself...

More info...

THE FOUR MS. BRADWELLS by Meg Waite Clayton

THE TRAGEDY OF ARTHUR by Arthur Phillips

Meg Waite Clayton’s national bestseller The Wednesday Sisters was a word-of-mouth sensation and book club favorite. In THE FOURS MS. BRADWELLS Clayton delivers an affecting page-turner that explores the secrets we keep—even from those we love most—and celebrates the enduring power of friendship.

Years before Sandra Day O’Connor was appointed to the Supreme Court—and at a time when only three women had ever served full Senate terms...

More info...
The Tragedy of Arthur is an emotional and elaborately constructed tour de force from bestselling and critically acclaimed novelist Arthur Phillips, “one of the best writers in America” (The Washington Post)

Its doomed hero is Arthur Phillips, a young man struggling with a larger-than-life father, a con artist who works wonders of deception but is a most unreliable parent. Arthur is raised in an enchanted world of smoke and mirrors where the only unshifting truth is his father’s and his...

More info...

THE NINTH WIFE by Amy Stolls

JERUSALEM MAIDEN by Talia Carner

Thirty-five-year-old folklorist and amateur martial artist Bess Gray is a single woman living in Washington, D.C., who falls in love with Rory, a charming Irish musician with a secret. When Rory asks her to marry him, Bess, who had nearly given up hope of marrying at all, is horrified to find that he has eight ex-wives. She sets out on a cross-country journey with the intention, unbeknownst to Rory, of seeking them...

More info...
In the vein of The Red Tent and A Thousand Splendid Suns comes a novel of a young woman in early 20th-century Jerusalem who must choose between her faith and her passion.

Esther Kaminski knows that her duty is to marry young and have many sons while awaiting the return of the Messiah: that is what all young Haredi women do. But when her French teacher catches her doodling in a notebook one afternoon, and begins to give her art lessons, Esther wonders if God might have a special...

More info...

THE GIRL IN THE GARDEN by Kamala Nair

THE TALK FUNNY GIRL by Roland Merullo

At once a powerful family saga and compelling personal odyssey, Kamala Nair’s debut novel tells the story of a haunted young woman who, in an effort to seek clarity about her impending marriage, confronts one fateful summer from her childhood.

When Rakhee Singh is just ten-years-old, her world is shaken irrevocably when her beautiful yet troubled mother spirits her away from her father and their Minnesota home...

More info...
Marjorie Richards--now a wife and mother--tells the story of her rescue from a bizarre, abusive childhood. By turns dark with a peculiar breed of insanity and bright with love and resilience, The Talk-Funny Girl is a testament to one young woman's courage and the healing force of love.

Marjorie is raised by parents so intentionally isolated from normal human society that they develop their own dialect, a kind of mountain ...

More info...

CHILDREN OF THE STREET by Kwei Quartey

THE ORIENTAL WIFE by Evelyn Toynton

Kwei Quartey’s debut novel Wife of the Gods charmed reviewers and readers alike. With his protagonist Inspector Darko Dawson, literary fans found a new keen-eyed and all too human detective to root for. In CHILDREN OF THE STREET Dawson returns to solve an even more gruesome and perplexing case.

In the slums of Accra, Ghana’s fast-moving, cosmopolitan capital, teenagers are turning up dead. Inspector Darko Dawson has seen many crimes...

More info...
The Oriental Wife is the story of two assimilated Jewish children from Nuremberg who flee Hitler’s Germany and struggle to put down roots elsewhere. When they meet up again in New York, they fall in love both with each other and America, believing they have found a permanent refuge. But just when it looks as though nothing bad can ever befall them again, their lives are shattered by a freakish accident and a betrayal that will reverberate in the life of their American daughter...

More info...

 

 

Previous Page

Next Page


"Art is never the voice of a country, it is an even more precious thing, the voice of the individual, doing its best to speak, not comfort of any sort, but truth. And the art that speaks it most unmistakably, most directly, most variously, most fully, is fiction."
--Eudora Welty

 

Fiction coming out in 2015

January: THE ANATOMY LESSON by Nina Siegal, paperback

February: MISS HAZEL AND THE ROSA PARKS LEAGUE by Jonathan Odell, hard cover & paperback, MURDER AT CAPE THREE POINTS by Kwei Quartey, paperback, HAUNTED (the Arnaud Legacy) by Lynn Carthage, paperback, THE NIGHT JESUS FELL TO EARTH, stories by Ron Rash, paperback

March: I ALWAYS LOVED YOU by Robin Oliveira, paperback, DINNER WITH BUDDHA by Roland Merullo

April: WHERE THEY FOUND HER by Kimberly McCreight

July: DOLLBABY by Laura McNeal, paperback

August: THE RACE FOR PARIS by Meg Waite Clayton, THE STORY HOUR by Thrity Umrigar, paperback

September: ABOVE THE WATERFALL by Ron Rash

 

Litterae Scriptae Manent News ] Resources ] Contact ]