Reviews News ] Resources ] Contact ]

Read the reviews...

Return to main book page...

 

Review Excerpts


The Hartford Books Examiner - October 15, 2014
"Dollbaby is an absolutely spellbinding debut that is written with intelligence, warmth, humor + reverie"

The Herald Sun (NC) - July 11, 2014
"When someone asks you for a great book to read, usually you pause and think about genre and authors and then give a few options. But every now and then, there's a book you tell everyone to read, because it is that good. "Dollbaby" by Laura Lane McNeal is that book. You haven't heard of her before because this is her debut novel. What a way to start."

Library Journal Starred Review – July 1, 2014
"Since McNeal’s novel is bursting with believable conflict and loveable characters, it’s hard to believe that it’s a debut. A vivid portrayal of post-war New Orleans, lush and evocative in its descriptions, McNeal’s unique voice shines through surprising and pleasing the reader. Fans of Pat Conroy and Sue Monk Kidd will enjoy this new Southern talent."

Booklist - July 1, 2014
“Replete with southern tradition and the heady emotions of the civil rights movement, this first novel is richly if a bit romantically imagined. It is a touching coming-of-age story that is sincere and poignant. A lighter version of The Help (2009), with similar charm and intention, Dollbaby is sure to please.”

Kirkus Review – July 1, 2014
“Rich characterization makes McNeal’s debut a lovely summer read.”
-- Kirkus Review

 

Litterae Scriptae Manent News ] Resources ] Contact ]